The University of Texas at Austin Cockrell School of Engineering


We’re accepting applications from students who will have sophomore, junior or senior standing this summer. May 2011 graduates are not eligible except under special circumstances. We will enroll twelve students in the 2011 Institute.

StudentIf you are majoring in an engineering field outside of nuclear, or chemistry, physics or another scientific field, you are eligible to apply.

The Institute is open to undergrads who are United States citizens enrolled in any four-year college or university. If you study at one of the Big-12 Conference universities that does not have a research reactor, you are especially encouraged to apply. Big-12 universities in this category are: Iowa State University, The University of Colorado, The University of Kansas, The University of Nebraska, Baylor University, Oklahoma State University, Texas Tech University and The University of Oklahoma.

If you don’t meet the above eligibility conditions, you may still be accepted to the Institute if you can present an explanation of how it would serve your career goals. We recommend that you contact This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it before applying.

Search Site


How did you find out about the institute?